A new prize for environmental poetry – Michael Marks Awards

A new prize for environmental poetry - Michael Marks Awards

The 14the Annual Michael Marks Prizes for Poetry Pamphlets
is open for registration of the perfect pamphlet, editor and illustrator. Awards are sometimes marked by innovation and this yr isn’t any totally different, introducing the award’s premier prize for Environmental Poet of the Year.

The decision for the environmental poet of the yr ends on 1st September, and focuses on the theme of the surroundings and the place of people inside it. Poets are inspired to consider the theme broadly, and submissions might describe the impression of people on the surroundings, or the impression local weather change is having on individuals’s lives. Entry is by submission of a poetry portfolio and full particulars and entry guidelines can be found at https://michaelmarksawards.org/epoty/

The successful portfolio will likely be printed as a brochure and the successful poet will likely be invited to learn at a particular ‘Environmental Poet of the Yr’ occasion at WordsworthGrasmere, in addition to on the Michael Marks Awards in December. The poet can even obtain a prize of £1,000.

The judges for the brand new award are poet Samantha Wynne-Rhydderch, Dr Mark Avery (former director of conservation on the Royal Society for the Safety of Birds) and Jane Caven, a member of Wordsworth Grasmere’s Poetry Readers group.

The decision for the Poet, Publish and Illustrator prizes can be open, and closes on the 23rd September. Full particulars for entry may be discovered on the Michael Marks Awards web site at: https://michaelmarksawards.org/awards-2022/

Earlier years have seen particular awards in numerous classes. The 2021 awards have been accompanied by a Greek Bicentenary Worldwide Poetry Prize for Poet and Illustrator, to mark the two hundredth anniversary of the institution of the fashionable Greek state. The successful works have been printed within the brochure, Ariadne, with poems by Fiona Benson, illustrations by Judith Eyal and Greek translations by Haris Psarras. The brochure may be bought from Broken sleep books.

In 2019 and 2020, the awards included an award for poetry within the Celtic language. The successful entries have been (for 2019) moroedd/dŵr by Morgan Owen, and (for 2020) Carthen Denau by Rhys Iorwerth.

The Michael Marks Awards for Poetry Pamphlets are a partnership between the Michael Marks Charitable Belief, the British Library, Wordsworth Gasmere, the Harvard Heart for Hellenic Research and the Occasions Literary Complement.

#prize #environmental #poetry #Michael #Marks #Awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *